Board of Managers

Anne Woodard | Chairman

Anne Woodard was elected to the Walker County Hospital District Board November 8, 2016, and voted Chairman of the Walker County Hospital District Board November 30, 2016. She has been a resident of Walker County for 44 years. Anne has been a Registered Nurse in the State of Texas since 1974 and graduated from McClennan Community College School of Nursing in 1973. She has an advanced Certification in Maternal/Newborn Nursing and also a Neonatal Resuscitation Instructor for 25 years. Anne was an employee of Huntsville Memorial Hospital for 29 years which included Nursing Director of Labor and delivery, Nursery, Pre and Post Op Surgical Services, Pediatrics and House Supervisors. Anne retired from Huntsville Memorial Hospital in June of 2015. Anne is also a board member of the Senior Center of Walker County and a Silver Spur member of the Walker County Fair Association. She is a member of the First United Methodist Church in Huntsville Texas . Anne has 3 children and 5 grandchildren. Anne married Greg Woodard  in January 2017.

Joe Sapp | Vice Chairman

Joe Sapp joined the WCHD Board of Managers in November 2019.  He has lived in Walker County since 1977. Joe received his undergraduate Bachelor of Science degree in Pharmacy from the University of  Texas, Austin in 1970 and completed a postgraduate American Society of Hospital Pharmacy accredited Residency in Hospital pharmacy in 1972 at Harris Hospital in Ft. Worth Texas. His Pharmacy practice spans over 49 years, 13 in retail both in staff and management roles, 23 years in hospital practice with Huntsville Memorial Hospital as Director of Pharmacy, and 12 years with UTMB Correctional Managed Care Pharmacy, from which he retired in January, 2020.  Joe is a graduate of the second class of the  Huntsville Leadership Institute, past board member of the City of Huntsville Board of Adjustments and  Appeals, a past board member of the local chapter of the American Heart Association, and a past member of the Huntsville Lions Club.  He is married to LaDeanSapp, a retired educator, has one son Jason, a graduate of HHS, UT-Austin, UNT Health Science Center TCOM who is practicing Addiction  Psychiatry in Denver Colorado, daughterinlaw, Jenny, a Primary Care Physician in Denver and two grandchildren.

Dr. Curtis Montgomery | Secretary

Dr. Curtis E Montgomery is the secretary of the Hospital District Board.  He was elected to the Board of Managers in November 2016. He has lived in Walker County since 2000. He received his undergraduate degree in Biological Sciences from Stanford University in 1974. He received his MD from University of California, San Diego in 1978. He underwent post-graduate training in Obstetrics and Gynecology at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center/UCLA in 1982. He worked at Kaiser Permanente in San Jose, CA for two years before joining a private practice group in San Jose, CA for the next 16 years. He relocated to Huntsville in 2000 where he started Samaritan Women’s Care and has worked there since. He has served on several volunteer boards in Huntsville and has served on various committees at Huntsville Memorial Hospital. He is married to Lydia Montgomery and has three daughters who all graduated from Huntsville High School.

Jerry Larrison | Manager

Jerry S. Larrison is secretary of the Hospital District Board. He has served on the board for 13 years. Mr. Larrison is a lifetime resident of Walker County where he is vice-president & co-owner of Reliable Parts Company, co-owner of Huntsville Machine & Radiator, co-owner of Main Street Auto Parts, and owner of Lexington Center Assisted Living. He serves on the vocational committee of Huntsville High School Board and serves on the Walker County Appraisal District Board. He has been a deacon for over 30 years at the University Heights Baptist Church and the leader of the weekly men’s Bible study group. He graduated from Huntsville High School and he attended Sam Houston State University where he studied Agri-Business. He has been married to his wife Barbara for 46 years and they have two daughters.

Dr. Lane Aiena | Manager

Dr. Lane Aiena, MD, FAAFP, moved to Walker County in 2017. He received his undergraduate degree from Louisiana State University in 2009 in Biological sciences with a minor in chemistry. He received his medical degree from the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine in 2014. After completing his residency training in Conroe, Dr. Aiena and his family moved to Huntsville. Dr. Aiena currently works as a Family Medicine physician at Huntsville Family Medicine. He remains very active at Huntsville Memorial Hospital and serves both on their executive board and as the chair of the Patient Care Committee. He also serves as the hospital’s Medicine Service Chief. Dr. Aiena was awarded “Citizen of the Year” in Walker County in 2021. He currently serves as an executive board member for the Texas Academy of Family Physicians and is the Walker-Madison-Trinity County Medical Society President.